Transmitter power

Discuss all things relating to the busy London Pirate Radio scene.
netant2000
who u callin ne guy bruv
who u callin ne guy bruv
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:45 pm

Transmitter power

Post by netant2000 » Sat Jun 20, 2020 4:08 pm

Hi all,

A bit of a weird question from me.... ...anyone got any idea what the most powerful transmitter wattage used by a pirate in London or surrounding counties has been in the past

I'm thinking its around 300 watt mark?

Weird question I know, I'm just curious

Thanks all, stay safe

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk


XXL
no manz can test innit
no manz can test innit
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:06 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by XXL » Sat Jun 20, 2020 4:47 pm

Usually 300w now days coz they’re all so low down.

User avatar
teckniqs
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 2816
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:37 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by teckniqs » Sun Jun 21, 2020 6:57 am

Just over 950w from an outer west London tower block about 5 years ago.

....I've never heard of anyone using any more than that in London during my 25 years of radio.

XXL
no manz can test innit
no manz can test innit
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:06 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by XXL » Sun Jun 21, 2020 1:33 pm

Who the fuck was that ? Can’t of lasted long.

User avatar
teckniqs
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 2816
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:37 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by teckniqs » Sun Jun 21, 2020 2:04 pm

I won't say who it was but many people on here know who.

They had the rig hidden behind kitchen units in someones flat and the coax and power running down from the roof to the rig, it lasted for a considerable while before they relocated it a couple of miles further west.

...I live in Worthing over 50 miles away in West Sussex with massive hills directly north in the way of London and it was almost cystal clear by Worthing pier!

Albert H
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1794
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:23 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by Albert H » Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:23 am

In the early 80s, when the 24-hour stations started from Church Road Crystal Palace, there was a very big Colinear Aerial put up. The aerial had significant gain, and the biggest rig that was run into it was around 650 Watts - the ERP was around 1.5 kW. There were reception reports (and tapes) sent in from northern Germany, Belgium and France.
"Why is my rig humming?"
"Because it doesn't know the words!"
;)

nrgkits.nz
Neckmin
Neckmin
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 10:35 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by nrgkits.nz » Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:18 am

Kiss FM in Belfast late 80’s had an eirp of 1.2 mega watts using an array directional yagi’s, I think the gain was around 26db

User avatar
teckniqs
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 2816
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:37 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by teckniqs » Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:52 am

That's very true, but it's a very long way away from London and the surrounding counties. :tup

Albert H
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1794
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:23 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by Albert H » Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:15 am

nrgkits.nz wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:18 am
Kiss FM in Belfast late 80’s had an eirp of 1.2 mega watts using an array directional yagi’s, I think the gain was around 26db
You're roughly right. The exciter for that rig was an NRG PLL Pro II. Miles tried the Broadcast Warehouse PLL+, but it just went into wild self-oscillation and the PLL wouldn't lock. (Moral: Don't use "at frequency" generation for higher power stuff!). He picked up an NRG ready-built board from me (in North London at the time) and rushed over to Ireland with it, because he had to get Kiss on in a hurry!

Those stations were true "border blasters" and Kiss was probably the most powerful pirate ever, anywhere!
"Why is my rig humming?"
"Because it doesn't know the words!"
;)

Tec1 87.5fm London
no manz can test innit
no manz can test innit
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:48 pm

Re: Transmitter power

Post by Tec1 87.5fm London » Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:54 am

1000w in to A .j pole On 87.5 ... 4 years a go

famefm
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: Transmitter power

Post by famefm » Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:19 pm

Tec1 87.5fm London wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:54 am
1000w in to A .j pole On 87.5 ... 4 years a go
So that's why I could pick it up in Wiltshire at that time. I wonder how much power the present station on 87.5 livefmuk is running?

User avatar
teckniqs
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 2816
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:37 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by teckniqs » Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:49 pm

Probably just a stolen 150w box, no point in wasting a 300w box for that shite .....even if it was free.

User avatar
teckniqs
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 2816
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:37 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by teckniqs » Fri Jul 10, 2020 1:20 pm

XXL wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 1:33 pm
Who the fuck was that ? Can’t of lasted long.
Tec1 87.5fm London wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:54 am
1000w in to A .j pole On 87.5 ... 4 years a go

Now you know...

famefm
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: Transmitter power

Post by famefm » Fri Jul 10, 2020 1:51 pm

Actually the big signal did last some time I think it was at least 6 months and as for the presant 87.5 station they have lasted for some time now 3 months and counting .I moving in 3 weeks time to 100 miles north of London so don't have long left to listen to London fm pirates

Sparki
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:55 pm

Re: Transmitter power

Post by Sparki » Tue Jul 14, 2020 1:26 pm

I know of one that came on years ago that for a day banged out a 300 watter it got into parts of Watford and a little into London which was quite impressive from Kent and by Kent I mean on the tip of the seaside. They did this test for one day but never came on as the DJ's were a let down apparently. I'm not sure how far 300 is meant to go obviously a long way but would you say getting to Hertfordshire and a tiny bit of London sounds about right? or was it to do with luck and nothing in the way of it?
Catch myself Sparki Dee on FB : https://www.facebook.com/sparkideemusic/

Username
ne guy
ne guy
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:14 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by Username » Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:54 pm

Im a delivery driver, well was until lockdown , i drive all over the country , must be talking above about the same signal on 87.5 around 5 years ago i had them from the south coast all the way to a place called Billesdon which is just outside Leicester and had 87.5 crystal clear the whole way

Username
ne guy
ne guy
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:14 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by Username » Tue Jul 14, 2020 10:01 pm

just to add - 94.2 a couple of years ago I noticed were getting out same sort of distance

More recently tho just before lockdown I noticed 97.9 clear from Crawley to past Luton clear as a bell

User avatar
thewisepranker
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:53 pm
Location: Brighton

Re: Transmitter power

Post by thewisepranker » Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:06 am

Tec1 87.5fm London wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:54 am
1000w in to A .j pole On 87.5 ... 4 years a go
I picked this up on top of Devils Dyke playing jungle, the signal was really strong. I've got it burned in my memory that the DJs were identifying the station as UK's Finest, although I know that it was actually a different station by that time. I then drove to Brighton and ended up on the beach (on the stones) and could still get it but it was obviously weak.

Albert H
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1794
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:23 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by Albert H » Sun Jul 19, 2020 2:13 am

Sparki wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 1:26 pm
I'm not sure how far 300 is meant to go
300 Watts travels exactly the same distance as 3 Watts, if each is put into the same aerial. The power doesn't change "range".

VHF signals always go to the horizon.

You extend the horizon by putting the aerial as high up as you can. The transmitter power just changes the signal-to-noise ratio. The higher the power, the better the S/N. A 1 Watt signal will go to the horizon - just like a 1kW signal - but probably won't be able to be heard above the noise floor. As you increase the transmitter power, you flatten the noise more and more, making your signal able to be heard above the noise at a greater distance from the transmission aerial.

The only VHF exception to that range rule is when you get weird atmospheric conditions (usually in the summer months), and VHF signals go halfway around the world! This is just a freak set of circumstances and is not useable for broadcasting due to the transient nature of the phenomena!
"Why is my rig humming?"
"Because it doesn't know the words!"
;)

XXL
no manz can test innit
no manz can test innit
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:06 am

Re: Transmitter power

Post by XXL » Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:14 am

Albert H wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 2:13 am
Sparki wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 1:26 pm
I'm not sure how far 300 is meant to go
300 Watts travels exactly the same distance as 3 Watts, if each is put into the same aerial. The power doesn't change "range".

VHF signals always go to the horizon.

You extend the horizon by putting the aerial as high up as you can. The transmitter power just changes the signal-to-noise ratio. The higher the power, the better the S/N. A 1 Watt signal will go to the horizon - just like a 1kW signal - but probably won't be able to be heard above the noise floor. As you increase the transmitter power, you flatten the noise more and more, making your signal able to be heard above the noise at a greater distance from the transmission aerial.

The only VHF exception to that range rule is when you get weird atmospheric conditions (usually in the summer months), and VHF signals go halfway around the world! This is just a freak set of circumstances and is not useable for broadcasting due to the transient nature of the phenomena!
Albert that is a load of rubbish. If it was a perfect world, yes 3w would go the same distance. 300w would penetrate through things a lot further out, thus the signal will travel further.

Post Reply