Page 1 of 1

GlobalTuners - LONDON'S ONLY ONLINE FM BROADCAST RECEIVER

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 1:50 pm
by GlobalTunersJW
Hi All,

Just to make myself known on here. Im the node site owner of "LONDON'S ONLY ONLINE FM BROADCAST RECEIVER" on https://www.globaltuners.com

I started the node due to a lack of receivers dedicated for the FM broadcast band. You could find a node that had wide coverage receive but it was hogged up with Aircraft users for hours on end!

After a few ups & downs with the PC, ISP and Aircraft users, I think its finally sorted! fingers crossed!

The receiver now has been configured so it will only allow WFM mode, frequency range of 87.1 - 109MHz and filtering of 50KHz/80KHz/120KHz & 180KHz.

LONDON'S ONLY ONLINE FM BROADCAST RECEIVER located in West London close to Heathrow Airport and uses:
- NooElec NESDR SMArt - Premium RTL-SDR w/ Aluminum Enclosure, 0.5PPM TCXO, SMA Input. RTL2832U & R820T2-Based
- Aluminium tuned dipole with balun for 87.7MHz
- 10metres of RG-8mini

Antenna is about 6metres AGL.

There is a bandguide but you have to toggle between tabs for it to populate (if there are errors or updated needed in the bandguide, please PM on here)

If the node does go off please bare with me as sometimes I need to reset the PC. I do work away from home.

Please follow the rules to the site and enjoy the node and look forward to any feedback!

Re: GlobalTuners - LONDON'S ONLY ONLINE FM BROADCAST RECEIVER

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 5:32 pm
by bristolpirates
Welcome, I've used this whenever I've seen it online.

Watch out for "joe002" constantly tuning into Heart, Capital etc... Does this on my node any time I switch it on.

Re: GlobalTuners - LONDON'S ONLY ONLINE FM BROADCAST RECEIVER

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:47 pm
by radionortheast
This is cool :D , better to use the buttons below the tuning to get it to work and 50khz bandwidth setting seems to be good for picking out the stations, I heard alot of pirates, I left it on 108 seemed to be playing dance. (better to use 100khz steps aswell, or you’ll be here all day, took me about half an hour to have a good tune about, strange to hear nothing on 87.5)

Tried tuning to the north manchester reciever, but couldn’t get it to work on wideband fm, think some of these recievers don’t really do fm broadcast?, would be nice if there where some more just dedicated to it around the country. The closest to me is the north notinghamshire 1, someone was using it

Re: GlobalTuners - LONDON'S ONLY ONLINE FM BROADCAST RECEIVER

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:10 pm
by teckniqs
Hope you're well mate,
Rick_DX.

Re: GlobalTuners - LONDON'S ONLY ONLINE FM BROADCAST RECEIVER

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:00 pm
by GlobalTunersJW
Nice to be on the forum! Thanks to admin for letting me join!

I have noticed one or two users just tune into capital and Heart for 1-2mins and then disappear ! it like they want to make sure they are still transmitting :lol:

Also suprised no one has jumped on 87.5 but its early days!

Im good thanks Rick_DX hope your well!

Well trying to listen to the node and its freezing again but thinks its down the heavy usage tonight! Bloody SKY :twisted:

Re: GlobalTuners - LONDON'S ONLY ONLINE FM BROADCAST RECEIVER

Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:28 am
by bristolpirates
GlobalTunersJW wrote:
Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:00 pm
Nice to be on the forum! Thanks to admin for letting me join!

I have noticed one or two users just tune into capital and Heart for 1-2mins and then disappear ! it like they want to make sure they are still transmitting :lol:

Also suprised no one has jumped on 87.5 but its early days!

Im good thanks Rick_DX hope your well!

Well trying to listen to the node and its freezing again but thinks its down the heavy usage tonight! Bloody SKY :twisted:
If you have the money, upgrade to an SDRPlay, use the old version of SDR Sharp that's compatible with Global Tuners, and use an old PC with Win 7 or Win 8 on it. If you set the SDRPlay up right, you get a lot less images and people can't play with the gain. You just set the gain to be the best it can be, max sensitivity without overload. Does have to be on a dedicated PC or Windows tablet though, SDR Sharp takes a lot of CPU. If you run Sharp on the slowest waterfall settings and so on, it shouldn't cause any problems.