Shortwave antennas.

Everything technical about radio can be discussed here, whether it's transmitting or receiving. Guides, charts, diagrams, etc. are all welcome.
alfaeire
no manz can test innit
no manz can test innit

Shortwave antennas.

Post by alfaeire » Tue Nov 09, 2021 7:49 am

Howdy all, I've picked up a 15w shortwave transmitter during lockdown, and since relocated to Scandinavia.

YouTube link to transmitter

Im in a third floor apartment with a nice large garden. See attached photo.

Im new to shortwave, so I'm looking into stealthy antennas, I've seen quite a bit about random wire antennas but I can't figure out if they are primarily for DX or if they can be used for TX also?

Would a single wire antenna fit my purpose? Or would I be better off going for a v wire dipole from my window down into the garden? And does the wire(s) need to be a measured length or is basically use as much space as possible?

Running down the center of the garden (top to bottom in the photo) is a wooden fence standing at about 6 foot in height I was thinking of anchoring the end of the wire to, so it's out of reach along the path routes.

Any information or anything I might have overlooked would be a great help.

Many thanks. Image

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk

Albert H
proppa neck!
proppa neck!

Re: Shortwave antennas.

Post by Albert H » Tue Nov 09, 2021 3:39 pm

Traditionally, a quarter-wave long wire works quite well. However, this presupposes some kind of earth mat or counterpoise to work against.

Remember - you're not looking for local coverage: you're trying to get to the ionosphere!