Help tuning DRFS-150 RF Amplifier with DRFS06 V2.1 Driver

Everything technical about radio can be discussed here, whether it's transmitting or receiving. Guides, charts, diagrams, etc. are all welcome.
nimrod86
ne guy
ne guy

Help tuning DRFS-150 RF Amplifier with DRFS06 V2.1 Driver

Post by nimrod86 » Sat Feb 29, 2020 2:01 pm

Hi everyone, new to the forum but seems a great resource!

I'm building the DRFS06 V2.1 Driver and DRFS-150 Amplifier kits from the Dutch RF Shop at the moment. I have the driver working happily on the bench at between 6-8W and an SWR around 1.0-1.5 depending on the height I can have my aerial with wind! (When using a 50 Ohm dummy load the SWR is 1.0)

I'm now starting to add in the 150W DRFS-150 amplifer, and my SWR is at around 2.0 at 40W power. If I bring it to 60W power then SWR hits 3.0. I know this is where tuning the oscillator coils comes into play, but would anyone have any tips on how to go about this as I'm quite new to all this! I have no idea how to tell if I want to be tightening or expanding the spacing between my coils. The parts list from Dutch RF Shop mentioned a particular coil to adjust for best input SWR on the amplifier, and then two coils to adjust max output power.

As far as I know, the SWR from the driver is fine, so do I need to adjust the coil for input SWR on the amplifier? Or am I just now concerned with the output power coils?

Any thoughts appreciated :)

Cillian

manxbiker
ne guy
ne guy

Re: Help tuning DRFS-150 RF Amplifier with DRFS06 V2.1 Driver

Post by manxbiker » Wed Mar 08, 2023 9:26 pm

Hi building one myself - have you found any more info please Cillian

Mike GD6ICR

rigmo
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin

Post by rigmo » Sun Mar 12, 2023 8:58 pm