using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Everything technical about radio can be discussed here, whether it's transmitting or receiving. Guides, charts, diagrams, etc. are all welcome.
Post Reply
Bton-FM
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 pm
Location: South east

using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Bton-FM » Tue Sep 24, 2019 4:14 pm

can i take the satcan out of an analog satellite reciever unit (the ones that used to recieve television) and use it by itself to recieve microwave?

Albert H
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:23 am

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Albert H » Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:52 am

No. You need the LNB to convert the 10 GHz down to around 1 GHz that's sent down the coax to the receiver. The satcan receives the 1 GHz "down converted" and demodulates it. You'll need to provide about 15V DC up the coax to power the LNB, and the satcan will usually need 12V stabilised and 5V stabilised to power it. I also used to find the output of the satcan demodulator to be a bit weedy, so I'd have an audio (or multiplex) buffer stage using a low noise op-amp (NE5534 usually), giving a bit of gain and a nice low impedance output.
"Why is my rig humming?"
"Because it doesn't know the words!"
;)

Bton-FM
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 pm
Location: South east

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Bton-FM » Wed Sep 25, 2019 7:55 am

Sorry what I meant was can I take the satcan out of an analog television receiver (the old set top boxes) and use it by itself with an lnb?

Albert H
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:23 am

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Albert H » Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:36 am

Yes - if you know what the pins on the satcan do!
"Why is my rig humming?"
"Because it doesn't know the words!"
;)

Bton-FM
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 pm
Location: South east

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Bton-FM » Thu Sep 26, 2019 7:29 am

Do most output the completely demodulated audio?

Albert H
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:23 am

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Albert H » Sat Sep 28, 2019 2:58 am

Mostly. There were a few that fed out an IF signal for further processing before demodulation
"Why is my rig humming?"
"Because it doesn't know the words!"
;)

Bton-FM
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 pm
Location: South east

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Bton-FM » Sat Sep 28, 2019 2:34 pm

Ok thanks for your help Albert :tup

Albert H
proppa neck!
proppa neck!
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:23 am

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Albert H » Sun Sep 29, 2019 4:06 am

Tell us what model you have, and one of us may have the connection data for you.
"Why is my rig humming?"
"Because it doesn't know the words!"
;)

Bton-FM
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 pm
Location: South east

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Bton-FM » Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:35 pm

Do any of you know what satcans are in the pace prima sat reciever?(mss1000)

Bton-FM
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 pm
Location: South east

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Bton-FM » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:18 pm

I’ve got 2 pace prima analog sat receiver here can anyone help me with identifying the satcans?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SamTheDog
big in da game.. trust
big in da game.. trust
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:56 am
Location: South-east UK
Contact:

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by SamTheDog » Sat Dec 14, 2019 2:32 pm

I don'gt recognise the numbers on that can do you Albert ?...

If it's an analogue-tuned sat-tuner can you will just need some voltage regulators and a preset on the "tune" pin.. BUT if it uses I2C
to tune it you may need to program a PIC or similar to send a sting of data to the tuner to set it up.....
Sam The Dog.....

TOR-Radio on FM / Mediumwave and Shortwave
And many moons ago.. WNKR on FM and Shortwave.
info@torradio org / qq22.net / TorRadio.ORG

Bton-FM
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 pm
Location: South east

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Bton-FM » Sat Dec 14, 2019 2:54 pm

I thought maybe it was a re-branded sharp satcan but I don't really have a clue.I should give the pins a probe and see whats going on...

User avatar
SamTheDog
big in da game.. trust
big in da game.. trust
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:56 am
Location: South-east UK
Contact:

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by SamTheDog » Mon Dec 16, 2019 5:57 pm

often there is a part number on the PCB inside the unit.. But to see that you would need to take off the covers.... ALSO with the can's covers off you should be able to see which devices are inside. This usually tells you what you need to know.. Look up the chips datasheet and from the datasheet how to operate the can.
Sam The Dog.....

TOR-Radio on FM / Mediumwave and Shortwave
And many moons ago.. WNKR on FM and Shortwave.
info@torradio org / qq22.net / TorRadio.ORG

Bton-FM
tower block dreamin
tower block dreamin
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 pm
Location: South east

Re: using a satcan from an analog sat reciever

Post by Bton-FM » Mon Dec 16, 2019 8:12 pm

I found the part number on the pcb when I first got It but it didn’t lead anywhere.I did find the ic datasheets which suggest i2c

Post Reply